The 2017 CFDA Fashion Awards

Later today at The Hammerstein Ballroom in midtown Manhattan, the 2017 CFDA Fashion Awards will take place. Hosted, for the second time, by Seth Meyers, the oscars of fashion will be filled with a plethora of fashion’s elite, honoring the best of the best in fashion and accessory design.

Along with the awards which will be presented by the likes of Nicole Kidman, Kerry Washington and Paris Jackson, for the first time ever, the CFDA will be bringing the Awards live to a worldwide audience by broadcasting on Facebook Live starting at 6pm with the red carpet followed by the Awards Ceremony at 8:45pm all hosted by Brad Goreski.

“We have wanted to bring the CFDA Fashion Awards to a wider audience for some time and are excited to do this on Facebook Live this year,” said Steven Kolb, President and CEO of the CFDA. “The broadcast will allow viewers from around the world to experience the fashions on the red carpet and to learn the Award winners in real time.”

Along with the design awards are the special appointed awards highlighting the achievements and standout efforts of  individuals whom utilize their talent to pursue and contribute for the greater good within and outside of the industry.

See below for the full list of nominees and stay tuned for tomorrow when we announce the winners!

Womenswear Designer of the Year nominees: Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra, Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, Marc Jacobs, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row.

Menswear Designer of the Year nominees: Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, Robert Geller, Thom Browne, Tim Coppens, and Todd Snyder.

Swarovski award for Emerging Talent nominees: Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection, Gabriela Hearst, Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia for Monse, Virgil Abloh for Off-White, and Sander Lak for Sies Marjan

Accessory Designer of the Year nominees: Stuart Vevers for Coach, Irene Neuwirth, Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel, Paul Andrew, and Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row.

The inaugural Swarovski Award for Positive Change will be presented to Kenneth Cole by Jon Bon Jovi.

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, named for the fiercely independent, four-time CFDA Fashion Award winner, will be presented to Rick Owens.

The International Award, given for a designer’s creative contribution to the international fashion stage, will be presented to Demna Gvasalia for Vetements and Balenciaga.

The Founder’s Award, given in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert who is widely credited with putting American fashion on the map, will go to Pat McGrath.

The Board of Directors’ Tribute will be presented to Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem, and Janelle Monae, acknowledging their tireless work and achievements on behalf of women around the world, and the powerful voice each had at the historic Women’s March.

The Fashion Icon Award will posthumously be presented to Franca Sozzani by Anna Wintour.


About the Author

Jillian Magenheim is the Editorial Director and Director of Partnerships for She is also a digital media consultant for various fashion and beauty brands. You can follow her thoughts on Twitter @Magenhaz and on Instagram @jillianrose_m